Thursday, July 15, 2021

Iowa and Tennesee Constitutional Carry Laws became Effective on 1 July, 2021



Right to Carry: 2021 from

Iowa and Tennessee are two of the five states which have restored Constitutional Carry so far in 2021. In both states the Constitutional Carry (permitless carry) bills took effect on Thursday, 1 July, just ahead of Independence Day, July 4th. 

Constitutional Carry is reasonable facsimile of the state of the law when the Second Amendment was ratified in 1791. At the time, no state or federal law required government permission in order to carry personal weapons, either openly or concealed.

In Iowa, the Constitutional Carry bill contained other reforms. The bill was signed into law on 2 April by Governor Kim Reynolds. It removed the Iowa requirement for a permit to purchase a pistol, which was separate from the federal National Instant background Check System (NICS). From

Effective July 1, Iowa no longer requires certain residents to have a permit to acquire or permit to carry to purchase handguns from federally licensed firearms dealers.

Iowa has moved from a relatively restrictive state, where you had to ask government permission to purchase or carry a handgun, to a state where the  Second Amendment is honored most of the time in most places. There have always been a few places where the carry of weapons was regulated, such as in prisons and powder houses. Private property owners could exclude armed people if they so desired. 

In Tennessee, Governor Bill Lee signed the Constitutional Carry (permitless carry) into law on 8 April, a week after Governor Kim Reynolds of Iowa signed there Constitutional Carry bill into law. From

NASHVILLE, TN (WSMV) - Several new laws will go into effect today in Tennessee.

Among them, the controversial constitutional carry bill, which allows Tennesseans 21 and older to carry a gun without a permit. 

The legislation, signed into law by Governor Bill Lee earlier this year, removes the permit process required for Tennesseans to carry a handgun.

The bill in Tennessee has some controversial provisions. Some of these are:

If a person leaves a handgun in a motor vehicle, it must be locked up and out of sight.

People are prohibited from carrying a handgun  if a Tennessee citizen has had two convictions for Driving under the influence (DUI) in the last ten years or once in the last five years. 

The three other states who have restored Constitutional Carry in 2021, so far, are Utah, Montana, and Texas. 

Most portions of the Montana Constitutional Carry bill became effective with Governor Greg Gianforte's signature on 18 February. The University carry provisions were to go into effect on 1 June. They are being challenged in court. 

The Utah bill became effective on 5 May, 2021.

The Texas law becomes effective on 1 September.

As of this writing, Louisiana is likely to hold a veto override session, where Governor Bel Edwards veto of the Louisiana Constitutional Carry bill may be over ridden. 20 states have restored Constitutional Carry. Vermont has always had Constitutional Carry, making 21 Constitutional Carry states at this time.

Those states are:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Mississippi 
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

The 21 states cover 56% of the land area of the United States of America. 

 ©2021 by Dean Weingarten: Permission to share is granted when this notice and link are included.

Gun Watch 


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Recently a FEDERAL APPEALS court issued a ruling that said the Age limit of 21 is unconstitutional for the purchase of hand guns. A federal court ruling has a direct effect on all such laws in all states and territories. There is no age limit , Race or gender written in the Second Amendment and congress or state legislators can not create any. The U. S. Constitution is the Supreme Law of this land and Shall Not Be Infringed is written the bill of Rights ratified in 1791 and has never been changed. Under powers forbidden to congress. Members of Congress should attempt to read the actual constitution. And stop giving false hope to those that think their opinion of what the law is actually matters. For instance the DACA can not be granted Amnesty. The law at the time they illegally entered this country requires deportation, permanently and congress has no authority to change that because Article One Section nine item three states "No bill of Attainder or Ex Post Facto Law shall be passed" Amnesty would be an ex post facto law. You must be tried under the law that exists at the time of the crime.. It requires a ratified constitutional amendment to change that. To date that has not been changed. All aliens that cross our border illegally are required to be deported. One more thing, the second Amendment applies to legal citizens only The bill of rights guarantees the rights of legal citizens. nothing in the constitution is a protection for foreigners. The constitution was ratified by Americans for Americans. and if you don't like that you are free to leave.