Friday, January 24, 2014

Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act has Wicker, Cochran Support

Miss. Senators Cosponsor Bill to Extend Conceal Carry Permit Holders Privileges Across State Lines

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Roger Wicker, R-Miss., and Thad Cochran, R-Miss., are backing legislation that would allow persons with state-issued conceal carry permits to use them in other states with conceal carry laws.

The Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2014 (S.1908) is intended to defend the Second Amendment rights of individuals with conceal carry permits, allowing them to carry those privileges from their home state to other states that also have conceal carry laws.

“I am strongly committed to upholding Americans’ constitutional right to keep and bear arms,” Wicker said.  “This legislation would ensure this right is not limited to the state where the concealed carry permit was issued.  It responsibly grants legal gun owners the same freedom in states with concealed carry laws.”

“Second amendment rights shouldn’t stop at the state line,” Cochran said.  “It makes sense to allow law-abiding gun owners to take their concealed permit privileges with them to states that also allow conceal carry permits.”
While extending concealed carry privileges, the legislation recognizes state’s rights and does not provide for a national concealed carry permit.

Wicker and Cochran, both members of the Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus, were among 57 Senators who earlier this year voted in favor of an amendment comparable to this legislation.  In addition, the Mississippi Senators cosponsored similar legislation in the 112th Congress.

S.1908 was introduced by Senator John Cornyn (R-Texas) and is also cosponsored by Senators Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), James Inhofe (R-Okla.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Mike Johanns (R-Neb.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), John Thune (R-S.D.),  Pat Toomey
(R-Pa.) and David Vitter (R-La.).  The measure has been referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee.


No comments: