Tuesday, June 28, 2016

MO: Governor Nixon (D) Vetoes Permitless (Constitutional) Carry

 The map refers to "Constitutional" carry as Unrestricted
 The omnibus firearm law reform bill, SB 656, has been vetoed by Governor Nixon(D) of Missouri.  Governor Nixon has reached the end of his term limit, so he will not be running for re-election.  The bill was vetoed at the end of the time period allowed by the Missouri Constitutional process. About SB 656,   From governor.mo.gov:
Modifies provisions relating to county sheriffs, self defense, unlawful use of weapons, and concealed carry permits

06/27/2016: Vetoed by Governor Nixon
According to the NRA-ILA, SB 656 has these primary features:

  • Recognize Missourians right to Constitutional/Permitless Carry where open carry is not prohibited
  • Expand Missouri’s current Stand your Ground laws 
  • Expand Castle Doctrine protections for anyone legally allowed into your home, vehicle, business and property
  • Specify that except for credit card fees incurred, no additional fee beyond $100 may be charged to process concealed carry permits and allows military members extra time to renew their permits
  • Implement 10, 20 and 50 year options for non-reciprocity issued permits
  • Allow components of firearm training for RTC permits to be online

  • I expect that the SB 656 will follow the path of its predecessor of 2014.  In that year, another omnibus gun law reform bill was passed with overwhelming margins in the Missouri House and Senate.  Governor Nixon vetoed it.  The number of that bill was SB 656. 

    This year the bill number, SB 656, may be a not so subtle message to Governor Nixon.  In 2014, the legislature passed an omnibus gun reform bill, also titled SB 656.  It also had 111 yea votes in the House, but only 21 yea votes in the Senate. It also passed the legislature on the last day of the session.  Governor Nixon vetoed the 2014 SB 656  on July 14, 2014.  On September 11, 2014, the Missouri House joined the Missouri Senate in overriding Governor Nixon's veto

    There are  better than even odds that Missouri will be joining the permitless or "Constitutional" carry club this year.  Enactment of SB 656 will increase the "Constitutional" carry club to 11, including three other states, Idaho, Mississippi and West Virginia that have passed similar legislation in 2016.

    The other "Constitutional" carry states are Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Kansas, Maine, Vermont, and Wyoming.

     ©2016 by Dean Weingarten: Permission to share is granted when this notice is included.
    Link to Gun Watch


    Wireless.Phil said...

    Shouldn't "May Issue" actually be 7?
    Long Island is part of New York and should only count as 1 and not 2.

    Dean Weingarten said...

    The "may issue" states are New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, California, and Hawaii. Some lists include Connecticut